About HRHA

The Housing Authority Supports All Harrisonburg Area Residents.

The Harrisonburg Redevelopment and Housing Authority (HRHA) is a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia created, following Title 36 of the Code of Virginia. As part of the act, a local election was held on November 8, 1955 and a majority of those voting in the election approved the need for a Redevelopment and Housing Authority to be activated in the City. HRHA was organized on November 29, 1955, and it has been in continual operation since that date.

HRHA assist eligible low-income families in our area with their rent through housing vouchers distributed by the Department of Housing & Urban Development (HUD). Currently, HRHA receives 956 vouchers. Our voucher program serves the City of Harrisonburg and Rockingham County, including Bridgewater, Broadway, Dayton, Elkton, Fulks Run, Grottoes, Keezletown, McGaheysville, Mount Crawford, Penn Laird and Timberville.

Our Mission Fuels Positive Growth In Our Community.

To promote adequate and affordable housing economic opportunity and a suitable living environment free from discrimination; and to foster redevelopment of blighted areas to ensure the economic, social and housing vitality of our community.

We Value & Respect Our Residents and Vendors.

To treat all individuals with respect and dignity, to base all decisions on rational and provable data and to operate with efficiency in the delivery of all services.

Meet Our Board

Board Members

The Harrisonburg Redevelopment and Housing Authority is governed by a seven-member Board of Commissioners appointed by the Harrisonburg City Council. The Board establishes the Authority’s policies and procedures and appoints the Executive Director.


  • Kevin Coffman – Commissioner
    Term Expires: November 29, 2027
  • Luciano Benjamin – Commissioner
    Term Expires: November 29, 2024
  • Gil Colman – Commissioner
    Term Expires: November 29, 2025
  • Shonda Green – Commissioner
    Term Expires: November 29, 2025
  • Kenneth Kettler – Commissioner
    Term Expires: February 1, 2028
  • Amanda Leech – Commissioner
    Term Expires: October 13, 2024
  • Janet E. Awkard-Rogers – Commissioner
    Term Expires: April 25, 2027

Want To Get Involved? Join Us At A Monthly Meeting!

  • Date: third Wednesday of each month
  • Time: 4:00PM
  • Location: Harrisonburg City Chambers (409 South Main St.)
  • Attendees: Open to the public

To view the upcoming agenda and information packet or to see what happened at a previous meeting, visit the Board Information section of the Document Center.

Our Team

Our Team Makes All Our Services Possible.

Located at Main Office, 286 Kelley Street:

Michael G. Wong

Executive Director

Tiffany T.  Runion

Deputy Director

Christine Halterman

Finance Director

Christa Good

Franklin Heights Property Manager

Duane Bontrager

Facilities & Construction Manager

Brad Knupp

Lead Maintenance Mechanic

Mary Walala

Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) Manager

Jon Myers

HCV Specialist

Kimberly Ashlin

Senior Housing Choice Voucher Specialist

Annie Pangle

HCV Inspector

Shea Mackie

Occupancy Specialist

Jessica Yanez

Administrative Assistant

Natalie Gazzara

Administrative Assistant

Steve Bradfield

Procurement and Inventory Specialist

Beth Tyler

Accounting and Human Resources Specialist

Located at Commerce Village Office, 21 Elon Rhodes Lane:

Sandra Lowther

Occupancy and HCV Specialist

Commerce Village Property Manager 
Hours: 7am – 5pm, Tuesday – Friday

Located at J.R. “Polly” Lineweaver Apartments Office, 265 North Main Street:

Located at Reservoir Street Office, 143 Reservoir Street:

Kaitlin Heatwole

Homeless Management Information System (HMIS) Coordinator

Victoria Hill

Senior Project Manager

Jacques Mushagasha

Family Self-Sufficiency Coordinator

Allison Henry

The Western Virginia Continuum of Care Coordinator

Charlie Eichelman

Community Development and Grant Coordinator


We Look For Positive People To Join Our Team.

If you are a positive, proactive, and solutions-focused individual, who possesses the necessary skills, HRHA invites you to explore the current job postings.

HRHA is an Equal Opportunity Employer